Stay in the know! Sign up to get Fauquier County news updates delivered to your inbox.
Advertise on Fauquier Now!
How has the partial federal government shutdown affected you? Vote!
Free classifieds! Members can also post calendar events, news, opinions and more ... all for free! Register now!
Login · Forgot Your Password?
January 17, 2018

49 county students qualify for Jan. 27 spelling bee

File Photo/Cassandra Brown
Marissa Puckett competes in last year’s Fauquier County Public Schools Spelling Bee as a Brumfield Elementary fourth-grader.
Forty-nine students will participate in the 12th annual Fauquier County Public Schools Spelling Bee on Saturday, Jan. 27.

Representing 11 elementary and five middle schools, the contestants will take the Taylor Middle School auditorium stage at 10 a.m.

The competition will include winners of their school and grade-level spelling bees.

The county winner will advance to the 13th annual Free Lance-Star Regional Spelling Bee in March. The regional winner will qualify for the 91th annual Scripps National Spelling Bee at the Gaylord National Resort at the National Harbor in May.

TMS reading specialist John Lucas serves as coordinator of the county spelling bee. Eileen Burgwyn, a retired instructional supervisor and English teacher, will serve as the pronouncer.

Lily Von Herbulis, won the county spelling bee last year as a P.B. Smith Elementary School fifth-grader. Lilly will defend her title this year as a Warrenton Middle School student.

These students qualified for the 2018 county spelling bee.

• Bradley Elementary — Emma Brown*, Lillien Pura, Seneca Scott

• Brumfield Elementary — Neema Kamunya*, Zara Laiq, Ian Robertson

• Coleman Elementary — Alex Gardner*, Sam Lloyd, Frank Milano

• Greenville Elementary — Melody Harlan, Richie Nieves, Ava Whisenant*

• Miller Elementary — Aidan Kroetz*, Cailin Lawlor, Simajj Robinson

• Pearson Elementary — Colin MacMahon, Litzy Velasquez-Nunez*, Claire Wahl

• Pierce Elementary — Rosalyn Holeman, Steven Holeman, Shelby Kaye*

• Ritchie Elementary — Bryn Benedict, Jack Wargo, Miriel Weber*

• Smith Elementary — Trace Brown*, Caroline Colvin, Leah Trible

• Thompson Elementary — Javier Conreras, Tanner Gilmore, Georgia Grady*

• Walter Elementary — Destini Colon*, Caylin Navarro, Isabel Vasbinder

• Auburn Middle — Matthew Fuerlinger, Caden Puttman, Annie Sutliff*

• Cedar Lee Middle: Sage Laine*, Imani Smith, Michelle Weon

• Marshall Middle — Gracie Garretson, Makayla Keeley, Andrew Locke

• Taylor Middle — Jack Dueck*, Ethan Homenik, Justin Lee, Christina Oporto

• Warrenton Middle: James Bockman*, Cassidy Hunsucker, Lily VonHerbulis

* = School champions and co-champion

Member comments
To comment, please log in or register.
Facebook comments
Enter your email address above to begin receiving
news updates from via email.
Tuesday, January 22
Smith-Midland promotes Samoilenka to operations VP; Springer joins Dominion Internal Medicine
Tuesday, January 22
Fauquier Republican Sen. Jill Vogel last week voted with Democrats for the amendment
Tuesday, January 22
Weekly unicycle classes in Vint Hill gym prepare members of UniStar performance team
More Fauquier news
© Copyright 2011-2018

50 Culpeper Street, Suite 3
Warrenton, Virginia 20187
Crime Log
Add Your News
The Big Picture
Ellen’s Kitchen
and Garden

Real Estate
For Sale
Legal Notices
Post an Ad
Terms of Service