Stay in the know! Sign up to get Fauquier County news updates delivered to your inbox.
Advertise on Fauquier Now!
Do you support the plan to expand Cedar Lee and Taylor middle schools? Vote!
Free classifieds! Members can also post calendar events, news, opinions and more ... all for free! Register now!
Login · Forgot Your Password?
November 5, 2019

Eric Maybach easily elected commissioner of revenue

Warrenton resident Eric Maybach (R) got 14,031 votes in the commissioner of revenue race.
Supervisor Mary Leigh McDaniel re-elected with 73 percent of vote.
School board member Suzanne Sloane (Scott District) re-elected with 34.5 percent of vote in three-way race.
Susan Pauling elected Center District school board member with 55.8 percent of vote.
Stephanie Litter-Reber, with 68.6 percent of the vote, defeats incumbent Donald Mason for Lee District school board seat.
Republican Eric Maybach cruised to victory in the Fauquier County race for commissioner of revenue Tuesday.

With 63.3 percent of the countywide vote, Mr. Maybach defeated independent candidate Angela Smith for the position that Ross D’Urso will leave next month after 29 years in office.

On a mild, sunny Election Day, 46.03 percent of Fauquier’s eligible voters cast ballots. Of 51,002 voters, 23,477 participated in person or by absentee ballot.

Marshall District Supervisor Mary Leigh McDaniel easily won a second term.

Scott District school board member Suzanne Sloane also won a second term in a very competitive three-way race.

In Lee District, challenger Stephanie Litter-Reber defeated school board incumbent Donald Mason.

In Center District, Susan Pauling defeated Rachel Bongiovi for the open school board seat. Brian Gorg will step down at year’s end after two terms.

Four county supervisors, two school board members, along with Fauquier’s commonwealth’s attorney, sheriff and treasurer won without opponents in Tuesday’s election.

Meanwhile, Fauquier solidly supported Republican candidates — two incumbents and a challenger — in Virginia House of Delegates races. Sen. Jill Vogel (R-27th/Upperville) also easily carried her home county.

Sen. Vogel had 64 percent of the districtwide vote, with 67 of 70 precincts reporting. She led Democratic challenger Ronnie Ross of Middleburg, 41,559 votes to 23,200.

Del. Michael Webert (R-18th/Marshall) defeated Democratic challenger Laura Galante, also of Marshall, 16,640 votes to 10,720. Del. Webber got 60.3 percent of the district’s vote.

Del. Elizabeth Guzman (D-31st/Dale City) got 52.7 percent of the district vote to defeat Republican challenger D.J. Jordan of Woodbridge. Del Guzman got 14,621 votes to Mr. Jordan’s 13,114.

Del. Mark Cole (R-88th/Spotsylvania) got 55.67 percent of the district vote to defeat Democratic challenger Jessica Foster of Remington. Del. Cole got 15,142 votes to Ms. Foster’s 12,008.

Statewide Democrats took from Republicans control of both the 100-member House of Delegates and the 40-member Virginia Senate, according to projections just after 9 p.m. But, vote counting across the commonwealth could continue a couple more hours.

Unofficial Fauquier County vote totals
Contested races

Commissioner of Revenue
Eric Maybach (R) — 14,031 — 63.36%
Angela Smith (I) — 8,058 — 36.39%

Board of Supervisors/Marshall District
Mary Leigh McDaniel* (I) — 3,118 — 73.12%
Paul Petrauskas (I) — 1,116 — 26.17%

School Board
• Center District
Susan Pauling — 2,166 — 55.84%
Rachel Bongiovi — 1,696 — 43.72%

• Lee District
Stephanie Litter-Reber — 2,208 — 68.61%
Donald Mason* — 1,001 — 31.11%

• Scott District
Suzanne Sloane* — 1,866 — 34.5%
Mike Hammond — 1,825 — 33.75%
Shelly Norden — 1,694 — 31.32%

State Senate 27th District
Jill Vogel* — 15,048 — 64.42%
Ronnie Ross — 8,294 — 35.51%

Virginia House of Delegates
• 18th District
Michael Webert* (R) — 8,350 — 58.53%
Laura Galante (D) — 5,907 — 41.41%

• 31st District
D.J. Jordan (R) — 68.82%
Elizabeth Guzman* (D) — 1,983 — 31.02%

• 88th District
Mark Cole* (R) — 1,837 — 68.6%
Jessica Foster (D) — 835 — 31.18%

* Incumbent

Note — All four General Assembly districts include areas beyond Fauquier county.

Unchallenged Incumbents’ vote totals

Commonwealth’s Attorney Scott Hook (R) — 19,281

Sheriff Bob Mosier (R) — 20,434

Treasurer Tanya Wilcox (R) — 19,988

Supervisor Rick Gerhardt (R-Cedar Run) — 4,116

Supervisor Chris Granger (R-Center) — 3,404

Supervisor Chris Butler (R-Lee) — 3,070

Supervisor Holder Trumbo (R-Scott) — 4,968

School board member Donna Grove (Cedar Run) — 3,237

School board member Duke Bland (Marshall) — 3,638

Member comments
Please, be polite. Avoid name-calling and profanity.
For credibility, sign your real name; stand behind your comments. Readers will give less credence to anonymous posts.
To comment, please log in or register.
graybeard · November 6, 2019 at 3:38 pm
These are Fauquier County vote totals, Prince William County votes weren't included, which won it for the Democrat Guzman.
Linda Ward · November 6, 2019 at 12:24 pm
A bit of a mix up here??

Del. Elizabeth Guzman (D-31st/Dale City) got 52.7 percent of the district vote to defeat Republican challenger D.J. Jordan of Woodbridge. Del Guzman got 14,621 votes to Mr. Jordan’s 13,114.

• 31st District
D.J. Jordan (R) — 68.82%
Elizabeth Guzman* (D) — 1,983 — 31.02%
Facebook comments
Enter your email address above to begin receiving
news updates from via email.
Thursday, February 20
Veteran entrepreneur Sandy Lerner opened it as part of her organic/humane operation in 2016
Thursday, February 20
He has led lawsuit to overturn rezoning of property for large, mixed-use development along Walker Drive
Thursday, February 20
1995: Local scientist honored, PEC ponders future, FHS hot and crowded, free internet offered
More Fauquier news
© Copyright 2011-2018

50 Culpeper Street, Suite 3
Warrenton, Virginia 20187
Crime Log
Add Your News
The Big Picture
Ellen’s Kitchen
and Garden

Real Estate
For Sale
Legal Notices
Post an Ad
Terms of Service